A 100 days to a new me: taking stock

Whew! …I am overwhelmed by what I am about to do. Blogging about my fears, lows and insecurities, is like doing a soul strip publicly …actually mind, body, soul  …everything. Something akin to the dancers in the link, only it’s even more personal, more intense. What I am doing is handing each of you a torch that sees deep within me, sears me at times, and reaches places, some of which, even I am  yet to explore.

Here is the deal:
I have no job, and no inclination to pick one, am in one sense of the word, low on cash , clout and everything else that a job might bring you. I am single with no love life –as of today at least. I am an empath, which means I pick up feelings of those around me and process them. I love uninhibitedly and trust without prejudice and am a little naïve in that sense. While all this makes me beautiful in a way, it also makes me clinically depressed. Now for the hardest part, thanks to the past year, I am grossly overweight. I have grown to weigh more than what my younger niece can count till (she is a bright kid). The all-time low, I seem to have lost my special connection with God, I hope temporarily.

So why am I down but not out? Because at times the lows are just an eclipse, warmth and light hidden by a shadow:

Job and Finances: I gave up my job and re-gained my family. I unlearnt all the corporate world politics and have a tar-free soul. I don’t have much splurge money but have reserves for a couple of rainy seasons. I do not spend like crazy but do take the occasional vacation. I own a house, was born with a copper spoon and the offer of editing a novel and a free-lance article assignment. So I have potential work, and maybe a potential career doing something I enjoy and don’t have to sell my soul for it.

Love Life: I am alone but not lonely, I got me!  I know what it is to be have been loved and love, I am not in an unhappy relationship and most of all I have a wonderful family who leave me alone (only) when I need them to. My two lovely nieces are a treasure trove of the warmest and most wonderful hugs. Most of all I have not given up on love …and honestly, the anticipation of love is even more magical than the real thing.

Spiritual: HE and I love each other and I know my path …just a matter of getting round. I also know I am dealing with an all merciful GOD who loves and forgives, no matter what.

Psychological: My psychological repertoire and coping skills transcend 99 % of the population’s. I have it on authority. I acknowledge I am unwell and am actively seeking treatment. I refuse to be apologetic or ashamed as I am starting to do WHAT it takes to get better, including seeking medical help, INSPITE of what anyone thinks because at the end of the day, I have to live those 86400 seconds a day, and I am going to live them happy.

Physical: Some misguided force, some flaw in my eyes, makes me feel beautiful. I still get to buy some clothes that fit me and I don’t let obesity define me. I am going to lose weight but not at the cost of my life and till then, I am going to be the happiest, prettiest and healthiest fat woman I know.

In a nutshell : I am in a particularly brave mood and am going to chronicle baby steps to a new me. I shall share with you a daily dose of the victories and the failures. Right now I plan a 100 days to rebranding life, a 100 days to rebuilding a life. There may be some dramatic results and other arenas where I may have progressed only a little, but after this hundred day journey, there is going to be another and another. …Hope you and I are together through them all.

6 thoughts on “A 100 days to a new me: taking stock

  1. Great ! I can only say that these words wrote themselves. Gaurpreet was just the medium. Let millions of words pour themselves like this for the good of human race.

    Like

  2. Great post. I started with today’s post, so I had to go back and find out what this 100 days to a new life was about! I especially love what you said about the physical – happy, healthy, and feeling good about yourself is ultimately the most important part! Best wishes on your blogging journey and feel better soon! (I’ve had the stomach bug for almost 2 weeks now, so I can relate!)

    Like

    • Thanks a lot. I still have not had the time to browse through your blog but the whole concept is so inspiring. The 100 days engulfed me, if you must know; but my head is still just a little above water!

      Like

  3. You are an inspiration! I absolutely love what you are doing and the way you count your blessings even during tough times, sounds like you are making the best of it and being a true inspiration in the process. You’ve got this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

